Weekly Shocks' Blog



Using Your Head (aka, “That Lump That’s Three Feet Above Your Ass”)

lump

I saw A League of Their Own this weekend. It’s always a little disappointing when movies you watched and loved when you were a kid seem maudlin and horribly dated years later and you suddenly realize that your ten-year-old self had pretty crappy taste. I am confident, though, that my current adoration for the High School Musical film series will not leave me with similar feelings of shame.

Anyway, despite feeling squirmy and mildly embarrassed by A League of Their Own, I laughed afresh over a fantastic quote Tom Hanks’ character screams at his cutoff man-missing right fielder: “Now you start using your head! That’s that lump that’s three feet above your ass!” Maybe if some of my softball coaches had shamed me to tears like that during my playing years, I could have been a brilliant athletic star, too. Or at least I might have fallen on my face less often when I chased after fly balls I’d inevitably drop.

Regardless. I had completely forgotten about this absolute gem of a quote from the film, partly, I suppose, because it’s a bit naughty, but mostly, I suspect, because it’s immediately overshadowed by the next bit of dialogue which includes the film’s most well-known line: “There’s no crying in baseball!” That’s a bit sad. And a lie, too. Hell, I’ve been a Red Sox fan long enough to have vague memories of my dad in tears during Game 6 of the ’86 World Series. And I definitely shed a few of my own when my main man Tim Wakefield gave up that cheap shot to Aaron “AssFace” Boone in the 11th inning of Game 7 of the 2003 ALCS. There are a lot of tears in baseball, believe me. Pah. Tom Hanks is such a liar.

So, how about you guys? Do you have favorite quotes from films, quotes that are perhaps overshadowed by other, less impressive, but more famous lines? If so, drop me a comment and I’ll either nod over the sagacity of your thought-processes or laugh hysterically at what a diaper-wearing ape you are. No pressure or anything.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

Comments

  1. * guilfordcyndi says:

    From Dr. Horrible’s Sing Along Blog: It’s curtains for you Dr. Horrible. Lacy, gently, wafting curtains.”

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  2. * LikeyLike says:

    How about “We all try: you succeed.” from Casablanca? It gets beaten out by a quote that isn’t even in the movie! (“Play it again, Sam.”)

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  3. * Joe Raygor says:

    I’m a Cubs fan, so you can imagine all the heartbreaks I’ve endured in my life.

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  4. * WeeklyShocks says:

    Joe, from one cursed-ballclub fan to another: your time will come, I promise. (Actually, maybe not, but stay positive! Wrigley Field is lovely no matter how terrible the Cubs are!) 🙂

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  5. * rollsettravel says:

    Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid; Swim?!! Hell the fall will probably kill ya!

    Posted 8 years, 6 months ago
  6. * Anonymous says:

    In Tombstone, I know everyone always goes for “you’re a daisy if ya do” or “I’m your huckleberry” as the classic Holiday via Kilmer lines. But the one that always sends me into giggle fits is where Holiday is playing a round of poker with one of the Clantons who accuses him of being a cheat. In response, Holiday smiles then slurs: “Why Ike, whatever do you mean? Maybe poker’s just not your game…I know. Let’s have a spelling contest!” haha gets me everytime. 🙂

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago
  7. * Celestial15 says:

    In Tombstone, I know everyone always goes for “you’re a daisy if ya do” or “I’m your huckleberry” as the classic Holiday via Kilmer lines. But the one that always sends me into giggle fits is where Holiday is playing a round of poker with one of the Clantons who accuses him of being a cheat. In response, Holiday smiles then slurs: “Why Ike, whatever do you mean? Maybe poker’s just not your game…I know. Let’s have a spelling contest!” haha gets me everytime. 🙂

    Posted 7 years, 10 months ago


Leave a Reply

