Weekly Shocks' Blog



Hell Week

Contrary to popular belief, I actually do have a life outside this blog. Granted, it’s nowhere near as exciting or monetarily-rewarding (go ahead and digest the pathetic implications of that little statement), but it is there, nonetheless, and occasionally I have to pay attention to it. To wit: I have an essay due for my option paper this week, a dissertation chapter to finish, a half dozen jobs to apply for, short humorous bits to submit to magazines (I do love rejection), and many of my friends are starting to complain they haven’t seen me in weeks and are wondering if I’m either dead or in jail. This means, dear reader, that you can’t expect too much from Weekly Shocks over the next few days. I really am very sorry: try not to commit suicide in your bottomless despair. Please know I still love all of you tenderly and will be thinking of you in my heavy moments of toil. (Except for that one guy: you I don’t like at all. Scram, lumpy!)

Feel free to poke around ye olde archives if you like. Better yet, check out people who are way, way funnier than I could ever hope to be. I’ve mentioned the good folks over at RiffTrax more than once, and despite the fact that Bacon Month is over (and shamefully over, too), their blog is still something I visit everyday for a chuckle or three. Plus they sell wonderfully funny, often biting commentaries to movies you probably thought were utter, overrated crap, so do pay them a visit and let the healing begin.

For more instant gratification, there’s always YouTube, even if it has been decimated by Viacom Nazis lately. I discovered Jim Gaffigan there recently. Why the hell haven’t I heard of him before, you might ask? Keep in mind I don’t leave my room for weeks on end and still regularly date checks and essays as 1998, so I’m really not up to speed on all the latest trends out there. Still, maybe you haven’t heard of him either? Haha, you loser! Go fix that. He’s brilliantly funny and pretty clean, too, a nice change-up in the world of stand-up comedy.

Hope that helps you through the dark times, my pets. Kisses and hugs to you all! See you soon! Unless I die first! Then, who knows?!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Spring! Damn it! « Weekly Shocks’ Blog pingbacked on 8 years, 7 months ago

Comments

  1. *tear*

    Come back soon.

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago
  2. * J.R. Ewing says:

    Classic MST3K always works too. My all-time favorite episode is “I Accuse My Parents”, that NEVER fails to cheer me up.

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

