Weekly Shocks' Blog



Sending up smoke signals

"Send help! We're trapped in here!"

The signs read: "Send help! We're trapped in here!"

MESSAGE TO FRIENDS AND FAMILY BACK IN STATES STOP AM STILL ALIVE THOUGH ONLY JUST STOP SNOW PILES IMMENSE SOME UPWARDS OF TWO INCHES STOP PLEASE SEND FOOD SUPPLIES DWINDLING STOP EATING ONLY RAW DEER MEAT STOP CASUALTIES HIGH STOP WHEN WILL THEY LEARN DAMN IT WHEN WILL THEY EVER LEARN STOP

If you’re a regular reader of Weekly Shocks (and if you’re not, I’m deeply offended) you might have come across a post I made many years ago (well, Friday, actually) in which I made a passing reference to the UK’s pathetic inability to handle snow of any kind. Because everything I write here will inevitably come to pass, yesterday, a massive winter storm paralyzed the entire country: there were almost two whole inches of snow right here in Oxford! The snow rendered the country’s inhabitants prisoners in their own homes and sent the media into a panicked, yet sarcastic, frenzy. I’ve been thoroughly enjoying the reports of the “storm” in both national and international newspapers and thought I’d share a few choice cuts here.

(By the way, we’re totally going to ignore the completely gratuitous, criminally narcissistic claim on my part that my pathetic little blog is somehow the next coming of Nostradamus. Forgive me: I was dropped on my head as a child.)

From the lovely and charming BBC, an entire series on the storm melodramatically entitled “UK’s Snow Chaos”.

From the erudite and elegant New York Times, a great article on the frustrations in London. My favorite bit is the miseries experienced by a Tube employee “who asked that his name not be used so that he would not get into trouble.”

And from the Twin Cities, an AP article cheekily entitled “London, the city that survived the Blitz, crumbles under a little show.” The photo caption rubs further salt into the wound by stating “the eight inches of snow, referred to as a blizzard by Londoners, challenged those famous stiff (now frozen) upper lips.”

My own countrymen are making fun of me. I am sad.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Smart and Sassy Bloodsuckers « Weekly Shocks’ Blog pingbacked on 8 years, 6 months ago

Comments

  1. * jessie says:

    lol that sounds like us here in the south
    its gets below 32 degrees and an ice age is apon us

    Posted 8 years, 7 months ago


Leave a Reply

